Oops, you're using an old version of your browser so some of the features on this page may not be displaying properly.

MINIMAL Requirements: Google Chrome 24+Mozilla Firefox 20+Internet Explorer 11Opera 15–18Apple Safari 7SeaMonkey 2.15-2.23

ESMO Award for Translational Research


The ESMO Award for Translational Research is presented to candidates who are internationally recognised for outstanding achievements in translational research.

2021 – George Coukos, Switzerland


The 2021 ESMO Translational Research Award was presented to Prof. George Coukos, who leads the Lausanne branch of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research at Lausanne University Hospital and the University of Lausanne, Switzerland for his impressive body of translational research work in ovarian cancer.

In an interview published in the ESMO Daily Reporter he discusses his long-standing passion for understanding tumour immunology, which led to scientific discoveries that were instrumental in the translation of research findings to novel treatment modalities in ovarian cancer.

Previous recipients of the award (ESMO Award for Translational Research as of 2017, previously Hamilton Fairley Award)

  • Antoni Ribas, USA (2020)
  • Charles Swanton, United Kingdom (2019)
  • Pasi A. Jänne, USA (2018)
  • Alberto Bardelli, Italy (2017)
  • Carlos Caldas, United Kingdom (2016)
  • Cornelis Punt, The Netherlands (2015)
  • Heikki Joensuu, Finland (2014)
  • Roger Stupp, Switzerland (2013)
  • Jean-Yves Blay, France (2012)
  • Rafael Rosell, Spain (2011)
  • Bengt Glimelius, Sweden (2010)
  • T. Andrew Lister, United Kingdom (2009)
  • Yosef Yarden, Israel (2008)
  • Volker Diehl, Germany (2006)
  • Bruce Ponder, United Kingdom (2004)
  • Alexander Levitzki, Israel (2002)
  • Piet Borst, The Netherlands (2000)
  • Thomas Tursz, France (1998)
  • Albert de la Chapelle, Finland (1996)
  • Bertrand Coiffier, France (1994)
  • Herbert Michael Pinedo, The Netherlands (1992)
  • Roland Mertelsmann, Germany (1990)
  • Georg Klein, Sweden (1988)

Nomination and selection process

Nominations may be made by any ESMO member (except undergraduate medical or science student members). Candidates may not nominate themselves.

Candidate eligibility criteria

  • Be an individual (institutions and organisations are not eligible) who has made an impact in cancer science throughout their career and are recognised for their outstanding contribution to translational medicine, which has led to successful application in the clinic.
  • Have published research results in highly cited peer-reviewed journals
  • Be an oncology professional, medical or clinical oncologist
  • Be an ESMO member
  • Have not previously received the ESMO Award for Translational Research (the previous Hamilton Fairley Award)
  • Not be a current or recent (last two years) member of either the ESMO Executive BoardESMO Council or the ESMO Nomination Committee

Final selection is made by the Selection Committee: ESMO President, ESMO President-Elect, ESMO Past-President, Chair of the ESMO Nomination Committee.

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and you can only disable them by changing your browser preferences.