Oops, you're using an old version of your browser so some of the features on this page may not be displaying properly.

MINIMAL Requirements: Google Chrome 24+Mozilla Firefox 20+Internet Explorer 11Opera 15–18Apple Safari 7SeaMonkey 2.15-2.23

ESMO Breast Cancer Award

The ESMO Breast Cancer Award was established in 2019 to acknowledge distinguished experts who have devoted a major part of their career and made a special contribution to the discovery and development of education, research and clinical practice in the breast cancer field.

The ESMO Breast Cancer Award is presented at the annual ESMO Breast Cancer Congress and the Award recipient is invited to give a keynote lecture during the Opening Ceremony.

ESMO Breast Cancer Award 2021 recipient

Andrew Tutt, Head of Division for Breast Cancer Research & Director of the Breast Cancer Now Toby Robins Research Centre, The Institute of Cancer Research in London, UK and Director, Breast Cancer Now Research Unit, Cancer Centre, Guy's Hospital, Kings College London in London, UK, received the Breast Cancer Award 2021 in recognition of his exceptional contribution to developing our understanding of breast cancer.

I am absolutely delighted to accept this award from ESMO which I believe recognises the work of many collaborators in trying to translate laboratory science to therapy change in the clinic, and improve outcomes for our patients with hereditary breast cancer.

Andrew Tutt

Previous recipients of the ESMO Breast Cancer Award

  • Sherene Loi (2020)
  • Jonas Bergh (2019)

Nomination and selection process

The recipient is nominated by the ESMO Breast Cancer Congress Scientific Committee based on the following eligibility criteria.

The candidate must:

  • have made a special contribution to breast cancer research, education and clinical practice
  • be an individual (institutions and organisations are not eligible)
  • be an oncology professional, medical or clinical oncologist or researcher
  • be an ESMO member

The candidate must not:

Chairs of the current Scientific Committee may not be nominated. Members of the Scientific Committee are eligible however they may not nominate themselves. More than one nomination is allowed.

All nominations are evaluated and a final awardee is selected by the Selection Committee: the Scientific Committee Co-Chairs of the ESMO Breast Cancer Congress, the ESMO Nomination Committee Chair and the ESMO President.

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and you can only disable them by changing your browser preferences.