Oops, you're using an old version of your browser so some of the features on this page may not be displaying properly.

MINIMAL Requirements: Google Chrome 24+Mozilla Firefox 20+Internet Explorer 11Opera 15–18Apple Safari 7SeaMonkey 2.15-2.23

The ESMO Council supports and advises the Executive Board and proposes strategic topics for discussion at the annual strategy meeting.  

Full details about the composition, tasks and responsibilities and the meetings are detailed in Article 21-23 of the Bylaws.


The ESMO Council is composed of the following members:

  • The members of the Executive Board
  • Chairpersons of the Permanent Committees
  • Chairperson of the Nomination Committee
  • Editors-in-Chief of Journal titles owned by ESMO
  • Up to 5 additional Council members appointed by the Executive Board (optional)

ESMO Council 2022

Solange Peters, Switzerland - President
Andrés Cervantes, Spain - President-Elect
Florian Lordick, Germany - Director of Education
Rosa Giuliani, United Kingdom - Director of Public Policy / Global Policy Committee Chair
Susana Banerjee, United Kingdom - Director of Membership
Amanda Psyrri, Greece - Nomination Committee Chair
Ravindran Kanesvaran, Singapore - Asia Pacific Public Policy Committee Chair
Elisabeth de Vries, Netherlands - Cancer Medicines Committee Chair
Dirk Arnold, Germany - Compliance Committee Chair
Karin Jordan, Germany - Educational Committee Chair
Paolo Casali, Italy - European Policy Committee Chair
Evandro de Azambuja, Belgium - Fellowship Committee Chair
Giuseppe Curigliano, Italy- Guidelines Committee Chair
Carlos Gomez-Roca, France - Membership Committee Chair
Marina Garassino, Italy - National Societies Committee Chair
Antonio Passaro, Italy – Press & Media Affairs Committee Chair 
Pilar Garrido, Spain - Women for Oncology Committee Chair
Teresa Amaral, Germany – Young Oncologists Committee Chair
Fabrice André, France - Editor-in-Chief Annals of Oncology
Christoph Zielinski, Austria - Editor-in-Chief ESMO Open 
John Haanen, Netherlands - Editor-in-Chief Immuno-Oncology Technology
Rolf Stahel, Switzerland - Council Member

Last update: January 2022

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and you can only disable them by changing your browser preferences.