Oops, you're using an old version of your browser so some of the features on this page may not be displaying properly.

MINIMAL Requirements: Google Chrome 24+Mozilla Firefox 20+Internet Explorer 11Opera 15–18Apple Safari 7SeaMonkey 2.15-2.23

ESMO Executive Board Elections

ESMO Elections 2019 Thank you

New ESMO Executive Board members elected by Society members

New ESMO Executive Board members elected by Society members

ESMO members were recently called to vote for the ESMO President-Elect and the three new Director positions in the ESMO Executive Board: Director of Education, Director of Public Policy and Director of Membership. Josep Tabernero, ESMO President, would like to thank all members who have participated in the elections* and is pleased to announce the names of the newly elected Executive Board members who will commence their mandates as of 1 January 2020 and will guide ESMO in the years to come.

ESMO President 2022-2023: Andrés Cervantes

As President he will prioritise education for the Society’s members, and also reinforce ESMO’s leading role in the search for optimal cancer care and prevention through effective advocacy at the policy level. He envisions a global future for the organisation, which has grown internationally in both membership and scientific standing. Cervantes is Head of the Department of Medical Oncology at the University of Valencia, Spain. He currently serves as the Director of Education, with a seat on the Executive Board.

I am deeply honoured to be given this opportunity to serve ESMO as its future President. As a professional society, we must focus on the best interests of our members: provide access to quality education, support their career development and allow them to serve cancer patients with the highest standard of care. As our organisation expands worldwide, this will also mean taking into account geographical specificities, growing closer to our members and to the national societies in each country, and having a strong voice in health public policy.

Andrés Cervantes

ESMO Director of Education 2020-2021: Florian Lordick

Lordick is Professor of Oncology at the University of Leipzig Medical Centre, Germany, member of the Board of Directors of the German Cancer Society (DKG) and is the Coordinator of ESMO’s Faculty for Gastrointestinal Tumours.

I am delighted to take on the important mission of making our members fit for the future of oncology, ESMO is one of the strongest global networks in this field, with a well-established educational infrastructure. We will forge ahead and scale up our efforts to provide young oncologists and colleagues working in regions with less extensive educational resources with the tools they need to best serve their patients.

Florian Lordick

ESMO Director of Public Policy 2020-2021: Rosa Giuliani

Consultant for medical oncology currently working at the Christie Foundation Trust in Manchester, UK. Giuliani currently Chairs the Global Policy Committee with a seat on the ESMO Council and also serves on ESMO’s European Policy Committee.

ESMO is a point of reference for external partners ranging from the WHO to regulatory agencies and political bodies at the European level. Going forward, I want to see our Society become the central oncology hub to which prominent organisations connect in order to reshape health-related policy. It will be my great privilege to carry forth the work already done to promote equal access to cancer care, and to drive the discussion of value and costs in oncology.

Rosa Giuliani

ESMO Director of Membership 2020-2021: Susana Banerjee

A Consultant Medical Oncologist and Research Lead for the Gynaecology Unit at the Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust and Team Leader at the Institute of Cancer Research, London, UK.

I feel proud and honoured to be entrusted with this role, but also confident that I will be able to open up new avenues of communication with the Society’s different member groups,” she commented. “I will make sure that the evolving needs of our members are recognised and addressed, and I will foster membership growth by nurturing the sense of pride that comes with being part of ESMO.

Susana Banerjee

*In accordance with Article 17, Paragraph 2 of the ESMO Bylaws, the required minimum participation quorum of 10% has been exceeded.

Last update: November 2020

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and you can only disable them by changing your browser preferences.